THE MISSION OF THE MANSON SCHOOL DISTRICT IS

"Continuous Student Learning" Manson School District No. 19 Board of Directors Meeting Monday, August 29, 2022 - Manson Elementary Library 6:00 p.m. Regular Board Meeting

MINUTES

DIRECTORS PRESENT– Robin Bloch, Greg Neff, Aurora Flores, Susie Fox and Yvonne Walker, Superintendent.

OTHERS PRESENT – see attached list

CALL TO ORDER- Robin Bloch, Board Chair, called the meeting to order at 6:02p.m. and then led the Pledge of Allegiance.

ADOPTION OF MEETING AGENDA

Susie Fox moved and no second was given to approve meeting agenda, motion died.

Greg Neff made a motion to add an agenda item after Program Review to vote on a new board member. Aurora Flores second the motion. Motion carried. (3-0)

<u>Aurora Flores</u> motioned and <u>Greg Neff</u> second to rescind the May 23, 2022 minutes from the agenda. Motion does not carry. (2-2)

Susie Fox moved and Robin Bloch second to approve the agenda as amended. Motion carried (3-0).

Susie Fox moved and Robin Bloch second to appoint Allan Torgesen to Position #3 School Board Member. Motion did not carry (2-2)

Greg Neff moved and Aurora Flores second to appoint Gloria Heier to Position #3 School Board Member. Motion did not carry (2-2)

It was determined that another meeting would be scheduled to further discuss board options on appointing a new board member.

BOARD REPORT

Greg Neff informed the board that accounts payable for the month of August was perfect.

There was a lengthy discussion regarding information on our current TBIP Program.

LEGISLATIVE REPORT- Aurora Flores spoke regarding upcoming legislative issues and that board priorities were still needed to then submit to WSSDA.

SUPERINTENDENT REPORT –A report was given on the following: COVID, Staffing, Facilities (Eric Sivertson), WSSDA Self-Assessment Survey, and the August/September Activities calendar.

CONSENT AGENDA

Greg Neff moved and Aurora Flores second to approve the consent agenda with the removal of items F VII. A-June 21, 2022 Regular Board minutes and Susie Fox abstaining from voting on Item VII. B- July 25, 2022 Regular Board minutes. Approved Items include: Regular Minutes July 25, 2022; August 15, 2022 Study Session Minutes; Budget Status Report/Chelan County Treasurers Report; Payroll and Accounts Payable; School District Resignation-Steve Nygreen; School District Hires- Brittany Serafini-MS Math, Jorge Lopez-ELD Teacher, Silvia Morales-Custodian, Cameron Hardt-Assistant Boys Basketball and Middle School Football coach, and Ashlyn Nicholson-Middle School Volleyball Coach. Motion carried (3-0)

Susie Fox left the meeting at 7:59 p.m.

ASSURANCE OF ORGANIZATIONAL PERFORMANCE (Monitoring Report)

Greg Neff moved and Aurora Flores second to approve Monitoring Report EL 2d Emergency Superintendent Succession and board member feedback as made a part of the record. The report is in compliance with the following statement: "There is evidence of collaboration and communication with an internal employee and the ESD. You might consider adding a plan for communication with staff and the community." Motion Carried. (3-0)

GOVERNANCE POLICY REVIEW/UPDATES/REVISIONS

Greg Neff moved and Aurora Flores second to approve Second Reading of GP 2a Governing Style, with noted changes. This item will be brought back to the September meeting for a final reading. Motion carried. (2-0)

Greg Neff moved and Aurora Flores second to approve First Reading of ENDS 2d Support of Student Learning, as attached hereto, and made a part of the record. Motion carried (2-0)

GOVERNANCE POLICY REVIEW/EVALUATION

As per the Annual Agenda Plan, EL 2e Emergency Superintendent Succession and GP 2b Board Job Description were scheduled for review. The board is in process of reviewing all polices for verbiage changes.

BUSINESS AND FINANCE

Greg Neff moved and Aurora Flores second to approve Capitol Projects Fund Budget Extension, as attached hereto, and made a part of the record. Motion carried. (2-0)

The board completed their Board Norms for the meeting.

Board Chair, Robin Bloch, adjourned the meeting at 8:40p.m.

Yvonne Walker, Secretary to the Board	Robin Bloch, Board Chair